Testing Quadcopter

Well, I’ve finally gotten to the point where I actually need a Quadcopter to test the FC1. That means the hardware’s finished and the software is (at least partially) working! But the PID algorithms I’m using to make the device self-balance need some calibration, and naturally, I’ll need a drone to show off the flight controller with!

I managed to get the cost under $60 (excluding the flight controller, of course), using generic 1000kV motors, generic 30A SimonK-flashed ESCs, generic red 4045 props, and this carbon-fiber frame. Once everything ships in 1-2 weeks, the result should look something like this:

41hnbwsz3ol

Cool, isn’t it?

Anyway, in the mean time I’ve been working on mounting a Raspberry Pi on this iRobot Create 2:

create2Video

It’ll run Node.js and talk to the robot using the API I just finished.

Leave a Reply

